Otago University

Otago University

As New Zealand's first university, founded in 1869, Otago has earned an international reputation for the quality of its research and teaching.

Otago has almost 21,000 students enrolled and has a presence in each of the four main cities of New Zealand - Auckland, Wellington, Christchurch and Dunedin.

The academic and administrative centre of the University continues to be located in Dunedin, where the majority of students live and work.

The Christchurch and Wellington Schools of Medicine & Health Sciences are both key elements of the University of Otago's Health Sciences activities, providing clinical teaching for undergraduate medical students as well as conducting thriving research and postgraduate teaching programmes.

The University's facilities in central Auckland provide a resource and information centre for prospective Otago students, as well as a campus for a variety of mainly postgraduate academic programmes.

In addition, Otago has a vigorous Distance Education programme, teaching to locations throughout New Zealand and also to various sites in Australia and Fiji. Links with distance students are mainly by live audio network but increasingly through the Internet.

Otago's reputation also rests on the quality of its graduates. Employers and other key stakeholders confirm that our graduates are sought after and appreciated. There are over 50,000 Otago graduates living in all corners of the world, many occupying influential positions in industry, government and their communities.

For more information: http://www.otago.ac.nz

Primary EUCN Contact

Dr Jim Headley
Senior Lecturer 

Room 4S1
University of Otago
P O Box 56

phone | +64 3 479 8663
fax | +64 3 479 7174
email |

This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

web | Otago Staff Page